Why I feel so strongly about prepping: Part 1, Protection

Good morning,

This is a reflection post that will be going over my thoughts, feelings, and concerns that validate my vigilance about prepping.  There’s many a reason why this queer canary in the coal mine is sounding the alarm.  I’m not Chicken Little squawking that the sky is falling. I’m more like a Raven articulating the very real threat we must prepare for. These are not just  “what-if” scenarios.  These are things that are happening right now in the present and some that have a high chance of happening in the future.

First and foremost, what I mentioned in my introduction post about being transgender.

I need to make clear of the very real facts about the danger Trans people face.

Fact: The majority of the victims of hate
violence homicides (72%) in 2013 were
transgender women.

FACT: Transgender people were more likely
to experience police violence and physical
violence from law enforcement.

FACT: Transgender people of color were more
likely(6 times more likely) to experience police violence.

FACT: Transgender women were more
likely to experience sexual violence

IN 2015, AT LEAST 21 TRANSGENDER PEOPLE HAVE BEEN VICTIMS OF FATAL VIOLENCE IN THE UNITED STATES, MORE KILLINGS OF TRANSGENDER PEOPLE THAN ANY OTHER YEAR ON RECORD

Rates of suicide for transgender youth and adults is astronomically high.

It’s extraordinarily dangerous being who you are as a LGBTQ person in America:

According to the National Coalition of Anti-Violence Programs (NCAVP), current data suggests that 20-25% of lesbian and gay people experience hate crimes within their lifetimes.

Most attacks on LGBT people are from strangers

LGBT people are more likely to be attacked by people they don’t know. 56.78% of respondents to the NCAVP survey said that the violence they’d experienced came from an unknown offender.

Police don’t respond to anti-LGBT violence properly

Police response to anti-LGBT violence is extremely uneven, with a majority of respondents saying that law enforcement was “hostile” or “indifferent” to their claims of violence. That’s why nearly half of victims didn’t even bother to report their attacks to police in the first place. And even when they did, only a tiny sliver classified the reported attack as one of bias.

mte1oda0otcxnzm3mtiymze3
Sir Isaac Newton: “For every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction.”

Since there have been more visibility for trans people and more acceptance, there has been a surge in backlash and violence against us.

Nearly a fifth of the 5,462 so-called single-bias hate crimes reported to the F.B.I. in 2014 were because of the target’s sexual orientation, or, in some cases, their perceived orientation.

Ironically, part of the reason for violence against L.G.B.T. people might have to do with a more accepting attitude toward gays and lesbians in recent decades, say people who study hate crimes.

As the majority of society becomes more tolerant of L.G.B.T. people, some of those who are opposed to them become more radical, said Mark Potok, a senior fellow at the Southern Poverty Law Center.

Since the election there have been:

1,094 Bias-Related Incidents

I saw a FB post a few days after the election from a progressive friend who snarkily made the comment of how they better go out and buy a gun.  They weren’t being serious and were I think poking fun at how many conservatives ran out and spent boatloads of money on firearms because of the 2008, and 2012 election.  This person is not trans, person of color, poor, or queer, or disabled.

Just this morning, I read about  Jamie Lee Wounded Arrow, a Transgender 2 spirit woman, who was an active community member for the group Sioux Falls Two-Spirit and Allies, was murdered.  She is the first known transgender homicide in South Dakota, and the 2nd transwoman to be murdered in 2017.

It suddenly dawned on me how much privilege is in the gun debate. People like that progressive friend above, do not have to worry about the kind of violence I have to worry about, and they are able to trust the police.

I’m all for peace, love, and nonviolence. But I think it’s foolish and frankly an act of violence to not protect yourself in any way that you can. Like, what are we expected to do? Ask nicely not to be killed? No. That’s not reality.  We need to protect ourselves. We need to learn how to shoot, how to handle guns and various weapons, we need to be able to protect ourselves 24/7.   The fact that over half of the violence that happens to LGBT people are from strangers should cause alarm. I don’t want to just be minding my own business going about my day only to be murdered by a complete stranger—my life stolen before my time. Not without a fight.

As the data shows, we cannot rely on the police, we cannot rely on the government, and solely on allies. We have to depend on ourselves and each other.

As a transgender person, it is an act of self love that I  give myself a Testosterone shot in my leg every week.  I also firmly believe that it is an act of self love to learn how to protect myself to ensure  self-preservation.

On my journey to self-reliance and being a prepper I am going to take up arms and learn how to shoot. I plan on saving up for an air-soft gun to practice with for awhile first. I will also learn how to use other weapons as well as my body as it’s own weapon.

I understand that this is a pretty loaded (no pun intended) post and some may not agree with my stance or politics. I hope we can find the common ground of wanting to live and survive.

Thanks for reading,

Ravn Thor

“I will not have my life narrowed down. I will not bow down to somebody else’s whim or to someone else’s ignorance.”  bell hooks

2 thoughts on “Why I feel so strongly about prepping: Part 1, Protection”

  1. I retract my previous comment about welcoming you to the club. That bi-polar part in your first post was unknown at the time. Stick to knives. There’s no room for bi-polar in owning a firearm. Too much instability. You may disagree, but please know this is not an attack against you or your mental state. Owning a firearm is a massive responsibility, and bi-polar folks tend not to do well with it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

