Why I feel so strongly about prepping, part 3: Healthcare

15977538_1416748951677135_5678062692712814068_n

So, here I am continuing my reflection series.  I needed to do some serious self care this week. I had not been sleeping, and I’ve been fighting some form of infection.

The first executive order as Dictator of the United States was to dismantle the Affordable Care Act (AKA Obamacare).

The order pushes Trumps favorite idea to
” allow insurance companies to sell policies across state lines — by encouraging “the development of a free and open market in interstate commerce for the offering of healthcare services and health insurance, with the goal of achieving and preserving maximum options for patients and consumers.”

Health care should not be a capitalistic endeavor. Our lives and health are not commodities to buy, sell, trade, to whichever gives us ‘The best deal’ or whatever.  Health care is a human right.   Scandinavian models of healthcare and Canadian models of healthcare I believe are a direction we should be going. Universal healthcare.  A major con I hear about  it is raising taxes, and people not wanting to pay for other peoples healthcare.
First of all, how much money are we paying to kill people over the ocean? How much money are we paying to bail out banks at our expense of health and well-being?  If a majority of our tax dollars go to killing people and bailing out corporate entities, I see nothing wrong with tweaking it to benefit the citizens of this country. A healthy country with access to basic human needs allows us to not only grow to reach our full individual potential, but to also grow significant progress that benefits the whole. I’d be happy for my money to go toward investing in our health rather than investing on killing people over seas to benefit oil companies or bailing out big corporations/banks.

However, a healthy country is an aware country. A healthy population is difficult to control. Health and awareness are things this new administration is not interested in it’s population having.

Trump plans to eliminate 25 violence against women grant programs as way to cut spending

This is just cruel and unjustified. Considering it’s Trump, I’m not surprised, but that doesn’t make me any less angry. Throwing half the population under the bus to save a few dollars is not leadership for the people. It’s selfishness and cruelty and PULLS US ALL BACK.  Countries that have more equality for women are countries that are in a much better place socio-economically and so on. Norway is one of the most equal countries in regards to gender.

Gender equality is important in its own right.

Development is a process of expanding freedoms equally for all people—male and female (Sen, 2009). Closing the gap in well-being between males and females is as much a part of development as is reducing income poverty. Greater gender equality also enhances economic efficiency and improves other development outcomes. It does so in three main ways:

•First, with women now representing 40 percent of the global labor force and more than half the world’s university students, overall productivity will increase if their skills and talents are used more fully. For example, if women farmers have the same access as men to productive resources such as land and fertilizers, agricultural output in developing countries could increase by as much as 2.5 to 4 percent (FAO, 2011). Elimination of barriers against women working in certain sectors or occupations could increase output by raising women’s participation and labor productivity by as much as 25 percent in some countries through better allocation of their skills and talent (Cuberes and Teignier-Baqué, 2011).

•Second, greater control over household resources by women, either through their own earnings or cash transfers, can enhance countries’ growth prospects by changing spending in ways that benefit children. Evidence from countries as varied as Brazil, China, India, South Africa, and the United Kingdom shows that when women control more household income—either through their own earnings or through cash transfers—children benefit as a result of more spending on food and education (World Bank, 2011).

•Finally, empowering women as economic, political, and social actors can change policy choices and make institutions more representative of a range of voices. In India, giving power to women at the local level led to greater provision of public goods, such as water and sanitation, which mattered more to women (Beaman and others, 2011).

Furthermore, gender equality benefits all the sexes. There is so much propaganda and rhetoric spewed around. I could write an entire essay of the ways gender equality benefits men, women, and so on. I spent the last 4-5 years studying gender and sexuality in college, I know what I’m talking about.

Cutting those programs for women hurts us all and does not make America great.

The attack on Women’s reproductive health by trying to defund planned parenthood is also another thing that’s going to hold us all back. This impacts poor women, rural women, women of color, all women.  Planned Parenthood has been around for 100 years and has saved many lives through cancer screenings, std testing, and yes abortions. The Religious Right’s attack on women’s bodies is not about saving babies. It’s about controlling women’s bodies, and our sex lives. This is a good 2 part video series that dives into the Religious Right’s obsession with attack women’s health care.

mad_max_fury_road_wallpaper_1920x1080_by_sachso74-d8r49ti
Mad Max: Fury Road–Let’s all have each other’s back. No one gets left behind.

In my first few posts I wrote about preparing for the inevitability of losing my health care.  This is very close to pretty much happening.  So what am I going to do?

I have made plans on moving back to my college town in Minnesota.  This last November,  Minnesota judge overturns state ban on transgender health coverage.  A transman friend of mine moved to the Twin Cities and said that he is on their state insurance.  I am in a few groups on social media for lgbtq in MN and I asked if healthcare there would be safe. Some are saying that they think so.  If I move to MN I would have guaranteed access to trans health care.  I’m still trying to figure out what I’m going to do about mental health care.  That saved my life.

I’m also planning on growing my own medicinal herbs and making my own medicines.  I exercise pretty regularly and eat healthy majority of the time (aside from the occasional treat every now and then).  During this time (the next four years) I am choosing to abstain from alcohol to keep my head clear.   Staying on top of my health and body is a way for me to resist and a way for me to stay empowered.

I also will be stocking up on condoms, and day-after-pills for my friends.  I have a feeling that it’s only a matter of time before all of this is gone, and we are told by our government that we are only to have cis-hetero-missionary-position-vanilla-sex when married to the ‘correct gender’ for the sole purpose of baby making.

This new administration has so much more in common with ISIS than people care to admit.

If you think I’m exaggerating and that such a regressive religiously backed government regime cannot happen here, look at these pictures:

iran-fc3b6re-efter

e71c927f305fb0c2c76d99af7cae09e5

br3
Iran 1970s, women were scientists, doctors, etc
Iran 1970s

It wasn’t until I made a friend at college who was from Afgahnistan that I learned about this. She told me about how things were before the Islamic Revolution. I felt really betrayed by my country due to my ignorance–I was never taught about this in schools. Instead I was taught to fear the middle east. They never taught me about how in the 50s, 60s, and 70s, women were leaders, scientists, doctors, scholars, etc.

This is a great book to read about it, especially if you like comic books, this is an authentic voice coming-of-age memoir. Really great. There is also a movie too:

I’m also a little worried that what was supposed to be dystopian fiction has now become something more of a training manual:

So in closing, our health care channels for so many of us are going to be cut. Medicare and Medicaid may very well disappear.  We need to fight this in every way we can, but in the mean time, we need to find ways to survive too.  Keep your bodies full of hearty food and your minds clear.  I’ll keep my pantry stocked with extra helpings.

Until then friends,

Ravn Thor

“Nolite te bastardes carborundorum. Don’t let the bastards grind you down.”

-The Handmaid’s Tale

 

Leave a Reply

